The Spooks Come Out for “Heel-O-Ween”

Happy Halloween everyone! 

In Chapel Hill, it is better known as “Heel-O-Ween” and well the spooks have been out to haunt us Wolfpack fans! In fact, the spooks came a little early! Yesterday was not a “medically boring day” in the words of my nurses and doctors. During my morning monitoring session yesterday, Leah’s heart rate dropped and raised significantly.  Alarmed and concerned, we were rushed to the fourth floor (Labor and Delivery) with the strong possibility of having to deliver the girls. For those that do not understand the risks with mono-amniotic twins, our biggest risk is for the girls’ cords to entangle. While monitoring, the nurses and doctors look for decelerations in the girls’ heart rates that could possibly be the result of cord entanglement. This is what happened yesterday. Our spook.

This all happened around 10:45 yesterday morning. Let me be the first to tell you the power of prayer works. The girls’ cords were tangled, but miraculously untangled themselves. Praise be to God! We are praying to bake these babies to 32 weeks, but like my last post– we can’t plan our days. Every single day is a new adventure. With mono-amniotic twins, it is not only day by day but minute by minute. Yesterday I remained on the monitor for 20 hours until this morning around 7 o’clock, and was also given magnesium from 11 am to 11 pm last night. The magnesium is difficult for me because I am not able to eat and rest well. And when you tell a pregnant mama of twins she can’t eat, the spooks get even spookierAndrew and I stayed on the labor and delivery floor last night while I was being monitored, but thankfully I was able to move back to my “home” on the third floor today! By the power of a lot of prayer, the girls “behaved” themselves through the night and we’ve had a medically boring day today. We have had an ultrasound and two monitoring sessions today, and every one has been great! Through the past three days of excitement and urgency with our little ones, I have realized Andrew and I definitely have “one of each”. Amelia is like her Daddy- laid back, cooperative, and flexible. Leah is like her Mama- a go getter and busy body!

Andrew and I are so appreciative for all of the love, support, and prayers we have received. Your prayers give us peace.  With the reality of how our journey can be with our unique, mono-amniotic girls we know the Lord is sovereign and He has our girls in the palm of His hand. We are thankful for all of our prayer warriors, family, and friends who have been praying and supporting alongside of us in this “yo yo- mo mo” journey. Mama, my MIL (Mrs. Kathy), and I decorated my room today with positivity and encouraging scripture! This is one verse that has spoken to Andrew and I over the past couple of days. “You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in You.” Isaiah 26:3

We ask that you continue to pray for our family and the girls in the days ahead. Pray for the “medically boring days” and bake-able babies! Heel-O-Ween is almost over, and this Wolfpack family hopes the spooks will be left on Franklin Street tonight!

Trusting in Him alone who gives us PEACE,

Mary Kate and Andrew

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Spooks Come Out for “Heel-O-Ween”

  1. Althea says:

    Mary Kate and Andrew it is so wonderful we serve an awesome God. He does hear our prayers for you and your precious little girls. Now that the spooks are at home, praying for a restful night for mommy, baby girls and all the family! God Bless

  2. Donna Marshburn says:

    Let us never forget the power we have through prayer, and that we serve a mighty God who is more than able to meet all our needs. Continue to remain positive, and know that this part of the journey is only temporary–that makes it so much easier to do what is best for the girls. That’s what I always said when I was dealing with the preterm labor with Lex & Carries. My needs and wants during that time were never as important as doing what was best for them. Keep doing what it takes to bake those girls.

  3. melanng says:

    MK,
    One of the verses that most spoke to me during those early years of motherhood was Isaiah 40:11,”He tends His flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in His arms and carries them close to His heart; He gently leads those that have young.” Remember, He is carrying Amelia and Leah close to His heart. Let Him gently lead you on this journey! He is so good to be so gentle in the days when we are so fragile. Sending much love and lots of prayers on your behalf!
    Aunt Melissa

  4. Heather Casteen says:

    Prayers going up everyday for you, the girls, Andrew and your families!! I love your posts, reading them gives me encouragement and makes me proud to call you my friend and the most Godly young woman I know!!!

  5. Victoria U. says:

    I stand amazed at the wit and wisdom pouring from your “pen”, so to speak. Please be assured that you are all (counting 4 now: Mama, Daddy and the girls!!), all four of you are being held up before the throne of the Lord by people that you don’t even know! Andrew, I haven’t seen you in years, but Chris has kept me up to speed. My heart is filled with compassion for the path you are walking, yet you bless me with your trust in our Lord and Savior. I am so pleased to hear that my birthday, Nov. 1, was MUD (Medically Uneventful (boring) Day)!!

Leave a Reply

