Welcome to the World, Baby Girls!

Image

If you have been following our story, we have all learned together that we should not rely solely on our plan. Since the day we discovered we were expecting mono-amniotic twins, Andrew and I have learned the value in seeing every day as a blessing. The news of our pregnancy made us realize that our life is His, and His plan is far greater than any plan we could dream or fathom. From the very beginning, Andrew and I have been comforted by God’s abundant grace and mercy. We are honored the Lord chose us to be Amelia and Leah’s parents. We are so grateful for Him bringing our little family together to glorify His name and fulfill His purpose in this testimony.

Last Friday, along with our team of doctors, Andrew and I set a c-section date for Thursday, December 12. We were all optimistic about “baking” the girls to 34-weeks because in the past ten days they had looked awesome on the monitors and ultrasounds. On Saturday, we more or less did a “trial run” for delivery as the girls had us all on our toes! Sunday was a calm day as we moved back downstairs to the third floor. I was able to go back to 3x a day monitoring and no magnesium. Hello food!! In this journey we have learned that it is not only one day at a time, but one monitoring session at a time. Yesterday morning the girls looked awesome on the monitor, and it was a quick 20-minute session! Round one of monitoring was complete! Yesterday afternoon, round two of monitoring sent me upstairs to an operating room immediately. Leah’s heart rate showed signs of distress, and Amelia began to follow in her sister’s footsteps. Between the two girls, the umbilical cords were twisted together in what resembled a barbershop pole. This is how fast things happen around Chapel Thrill– I began monitoring at 3:30pm, and Leah was born at 4:25pm and Amelia followed behind at 4:26pm.

Yesterday, we were 29 weeks and 3 days into our pregnancy. While it is still a very early age for our girls to have been delivered, we are incredibly blessed for each day I was able to carry and bake them. Amelia was born at 3 lbs. and 3 oz., and Leah was born at 2 lbs. and 13 ounces. They both have the sweetest light blonde eyebrows and light blonde hair (and it looks curly!) Both of our girls are under wonderful care here at UNC in NICU. I was not able to see them yesterday, but Andrew took a lot of pictures for me to see our sweet girls! This morning, I was determined to fight against any post-surgery pain to see my girls for the first time. Here are a few pictures for you to see our sweet blessings!

ImageWelcome to the world, sweet Amelia! 

Image

This is our little fighter, Leah! She is already a Daddy’s girl as she squeezes his hand tight!

Image

When Andrew and Joel were leaving Leah last night, she held up her hand and waved!

Image

Meeting our Leah for the first time, I am already so in love!

Image

My sweet Amelia opened her eyes to her Mama’s voice this morning, it literally melted my heart.

The girls are both stable in the NICU unit right now. Reality is that our girls are still extremely tiny, and the next 24 to 48 hours is crucial. Amelia is doing very well for the girls’ gestational age and Leah is stable at the moment, but our little fighter has some long days ahead of her! The plan for now is to grow these babies, get them healthy, and get them stronger! If all goes as planned, we could potentially bring the girls home between 35 and 36 weeks, which is a couple of days before Christmas. Can you talk about the greatest Christmas present ever?! Andrew and I are already overjoyed, but to be able to bring our girls home for Christmas would be the most amazing gift.

Due to the girls being so tiny at the moment, we aren’t taking visitors until we can bring the girls home. We have been so incredibly blessed with the amount of support, love, and prayers, that our family and friends have so willingly extended our way. As much as we are ready to show our sweet girls off, it is best according to the doctors to keep our visitors limited to family. Thank you all for your understanding, and we promise to share many pictures and updates with all of you in the coming days and weeks!

Please remember our family and our girls in your prayers. We seriously can not thank everyone enough for all of your support, love, and continued prayers! As we continue this journey, please follow along with the updates here on the blog. For now, this Mama is ready to see her girls and have some kangaroo care time!

One Blessed Mama,

Mary Kate

 

 

19 thoughts on “Welcome to the World, Baby Girls!

  1. Jenna says:

    Congratulations, Mary Kate and Andrew! Your girls are beautiful 🙂 Hannah texted me your news while I was in Bible study with my high school girls… I shared your story with them, and we immediately stopped to pray. They requested that you and the girls stay on our prayer list this week! Know you are being prayed for by 12 sweethearts, and me!

  2. Hayley @ A Beautiful Exchange says:

    Oh, they are just beautiful! In love!! Please let me know when I can come over to the hospital! I would love to bring you and Andrew some breakfast/lunch/dinner one day and drop off some goodies for your little angels! Praying that they continue to grow and that you will have quick healing! 🙂

  3. Ashley Morris says:

    Mary Kate,

    Congratulations on your two new beautiful miracles. I have been following your story for awhile now and am amazed by your positive attitude and strength in such a trying situation. I know God never gives us more than we can handle. I will be praying for you new family and your miracles to grow quickly and strong! I know times in the NICU are hard and as a preemie myself I was told there were tons of challenges. Praying you will be able to bring your babies home for Christmas.

    Best- Ashley Noble Morris

  4. Aunt Ashley says:

    Yep. Aunt Ashley’s a goner. They are beautiful, wonderful, gorgeous…have I left anything out?? We are so relieved the girls have arrived safely and you are doing well. Mary Kate, you are a wonder after everything you’ve been through the past 24 hours being able to post this blog entry. You crack me up…of course, you did your hair and makeup today for your first photos as a mama. We would have expected no less! Keeping the new loves of my life in humble and grateful prayer that they grow stronger and fatter by the day until they can go home. Good job to you both!! I knew they’d be pretty babies!

    Love to you all,
    Great Aunt Ashley (that has a nice ring to it, doesn’t it?!?)

  5. Althea says:

    So thankful for God’s Goodness. Your little girls are precious!!!! Tommie and I are praying for you in the days ahead. As you feel better and have time, keep us posted with their progress and pics also.

  6. Virginia Isaacs says:

    Just saw the pictures of my precious great grands for the first time and have eyes full of tears and a heart overflowing with love and praise! Can’t wait to meet them up close and personal! Love you all.
    Gran-gran

  7. Cham & Carol Edmiston says:

    So thankful for this precious gift of twins. Amelia and Leah are very blessed to be born to such wise and loving parents as you and Andrew. Rejoice in the Lord always, and again I say rejoice! Praying for your girls and for you and Andrew-you will now know what it is like to have part of your hearts “walking” around in the world(even if, for now, they are growing in the NICU bassinets).

  8. Rhonda Hall says:

    Mary Kate those girls are beautiful just like their mama! God is good! I know you will be the best little mama and Andrew is already wrapped I know. I am sending my love and prayers to you!

  9. Alice Brown says:

    Keeping each of you in my prayers daily….They are precious little bundles of joy…I know they are receiving lots of love from such loving families….God Bless….

  10. Ann Farrior says:

    Oh my goodness……The girls are gourgeous!! Can not wait to meet them in person…..you are in my prayers…..God is good!!

  11. Lisa Smith says:

    Mary Kate and Andrew, they are beautiful girls and they are so blessed to have wonderful parents!!! We will continue to keep you all in our thoughts and prayers. Love reading your blog and keeping up!!! The Smiths love you!!!

  12. Sharon Cole Elder says:

    Hi Mary Kate,
    I was so thrilled to hear about your marriage and now God has blessed you with two beautiful little girls. I will be praying for you and your husband during the critical days and watching for updates. When you know your source of strength He will get you through and be stronger on the other side.
    Sharon Cole Elder

Leave a Reply

