A Bon Jovi Kind of Day

It’s My Life so of course this week has been a roller coaster of emotions! We’ve been Livin’ On A Prayer and I have been telling my sweet babies all week I’ll Be There For You. Amelia and Leah were Born to be My Bab(ies), and this Mama sometimes wants to scream Who Says You Can’t Go Home!! Fortunately, the girls have not received any Bad Medicine so one day soon the road from Raleigh to Chapel Hill will seem like a Lost Highway. Okay. Okay. Enough with all of the Bon Jovi song titles!
Since Amelia’s surgery on Monday, the girls have been rocking it out in the NICU! So, on the way to Chapel Hill today I thought to myself, “Well the girls have been rocking it out, maybe Mama should rock it out!” Bon Jovi’s Greatest Hits went into the CD player, the steering wheel became my set of drums, and the crazy looks from other drivers began as I made my way down the interstate. Due to Amelia’s surgery, this is the first week I have really felt on edge since the girls have been born. When we began our journey in NICU, I was told by other moms that there would be good days and bad days. As we approach Day 40 in Chapel Hill, I have to admit my faults that this Mama is getting a little restless and ready to have her babies home! I have truly witnessed the power of prayer this week, as the girls have made an incredible amount of progress from where we were a week ago today. Last Friday, we were told that Amelia would be having heart surgery and Leah was receiving a round of indomethacin for her PDA. Today, my sweet angels are completely OFF CPAP and breathing on their OWN! It is such a blessing to see their sweet faces without the CPAP tubes in their tiny, precious noses. They are both in their “condos” chilling out in their cute outfits and gaining weight! Leah is completely off of IV fluids, and Amelia will be tonight! Here are a few pictures to document the awesome week we have had.
ImageOur sweet girl before surgery on Monday! Can you see the slight smile on Amelia’s face? She knew she was born a fighter and that her strength would see her through back to the NICU!
ImageImage“Kitty” (Mrs. Kathy) and “Neva” (Mama) were able to hold Amelia before surgery! This was the first time that they have been able to hold one of our girls!
ImageOn Monday, Andrew and I were overwhelmed by the amount of support that we received from so many people!! THANK YOU for everyone who prayed for our family and Amelia during her surgery on Monday. We are so humbled by the love we have been shown, and the prayers that have been lifted up for our family!
ImageImageWe had some sweet visitors yesterday! Nana, Aunt Linda, Aunt Emily, and Jenna came to see the girls. I can.not.wait to doll these girls up for Jenna and Steven’s wedding! We are so excited to have her join our family!
ImageThe girls and I had some sweet snuggle time with their CPAP OFF!! You all have no idea how happy Andrew and I are to be able to see our sweet girls faces all the time now. Tonight, my high school is playing in the Eastern finals against our arch-rival James Kenan for the ticket to the State Championship. Go Bulldogs!
Even though my patience and strength is wearing a little thin on days like today– I am rocking it out like my babies! I see how strong they are, what they battle on a daily basis, and my strength is renewed. As hard as it is to leave them at the end of the day, I know they are fighting so hard to be home. As odd as it may sound, Bon Jovi put some fire into my soul as we rocked it out. Some days, you just have to let lose, scream it out, have a jam session, and let the lyrics find you. Who knew that Bon Jovi would provide the motivation to keep this Mommy going? As his music inspired me today to keep rocking these days out– maybe they will inspire you!
She says we’ve got to hold on to what we’ve got–‘Cause it doesn’t make a difference if we make it or not–We’ve got each other and that’s a lot for LOVE– We’ll give it a shot–Whooah, we’re half way there–Livin’ on a prayer–Take my hand, we’ll make it I swear–Livin’ on a PRAYER!
“I’ll be there for you–These five words I swear to you–When you breathe I want to the air for youI’ll be there for you–I’d live and I’d die for you–I’d steal the sun from the sky for you–Words can’t say what love can do–I’ll be there for you.
Hey man I’m alive–I’m takin’ each day and night at a time–Yeah I’m down, but I know I’ll get by–Hey hey hey hey, man gotta live my life–Like I ain’t got nothin’ but this roll of the dice–I’m feelin’ like a Monday, but someday I’ll be a Saturday night.”
“Who’ll stand for the restless and the lonely? For the desperate and the hungry? Time for the count, I’m hearing you now. For the faithful, the believer, for the faithless, and the teacher. Stand up and be proud. What about now?
It’s my life, it’s now or never. I ain’t gonna live forever. I just want to live while I’m alive.”
As I was driving back from Chapel Hill tonight and It’s My Life played over my speakers, it hit me like a ton of bricks. Now, I don’t think that when Jon Bon Jovi recorded this song that Hebrews 12 came to his mind. “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great could of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider Him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.” Hebrews 12: 1-3

You see, the Christian life involves hard work and is by no means easy. To live effectively, we must keep our eyes on Jesus. This week I have learned that we will stumble and lose strength if we look away from Him to stare at ourselves or at the circumstances surrounding us. We should be running for Christ, not ourselves, and we must always keep Him in sight. When we face hardship and discouragement, it is easy to lose sight of the big picture. As hard as it may be to stay positive through these days at least we are blessed with two healthy, loved, and beautiful baby girls. One day in the near future Andrew and I are going to walk out of UNC Hospital with Amelia and Leah and head home to Raleigh! This is our big picture.

So, I encourage you all to live— live like there is no tomorrow. Rock It Out. Live fearlessly. As Christians, the Lord has given us one life on Earth to live for Him, bring glory to His name, and make a difference. What About Now? It’s now or never my friends. Run towards Jesus and don’t lose sight of the big picture in your life, because He has painted out one for all of us. Mine involves two beautiful baby girls, a hard working husband, and a life that is mine to make a difference for Him.

Rocking It Out in the Name of Jesus,

Mary Kate

 
 
 

2 thoughts on “A Bon Jovi Kind of Day

  1. Donna Marshburn says:

    Love the blog and the pictures. So glad those precious girls are doing so well! Although it’s hard to leave them each day, just remember how well they are doing given the fact they should still be growing inside of you. Many people don’t understand how much difference it makes when babies are born so early. Some days will be “baby” steps and others will be “giant” steps on the journey home from NICU. Soon they will be home with you and Andrew. Looking forward to seeing them then.

Leave a Reply

