There’s Something About March…

There is just something about March. Between spring’s grand arrival (especially this year…winter, you’ve worn out your welcome in North Carolina) to good ole’ March Madness…March just can’t be beat. Until you get to June and summertime…or October with crisp autumn leaves and everything pumpkin…and then December and Christmas… okay, okay… I am a year-around kind of girl! I am happy to live in North Carolina where we get to experience the beauty of each and every season. Like I said, we’ve experienced a grand winter. It’s time for some spring air and sunshine!

Since I enjoy finding the good in every season and the excitement in a new month, I am going to do something new with the blog! Each month, I will post five things (or possibly more…) about exciting things we will be doing as a family and fun ideas that can be done with your families! I have loved posting about our daily adventures as a family, and I am excited to begin to grow Simply Divine a little more.

Along with my Fab Five things each month, we are going to have ‘Tasty Tuesday’ around here. After spending three months of eating hospital food and to-go almost every night, I have thoroughly enjoyed getting back into the kitchen. I will be bringing you some simply divine recipes that I hope you will enjoy in your home! Now, we don’t get fancy. These are just some simple recipes that are easy to whip up! I am not going to promise they’ll be 100% all-that-healthy either…I’m from southeastern North Carolina, y’all. I like to throw a little butter in the mix every now and then.

So, without further adieu here are Fab Five ideas that we can all look forward to in March!

1. The Red Carpet

One of my favorite reasons to watch the Academy Awards is to see the fashion. Don’t forget to tune into the Oscars tomorrow night, 7pm on ABC!

Speaking of ABC… I am also excited to see how the end of The Bachelor plays out this month. I didn’t enjoy the beginning of this season… I just though Juan Pablo was too goofy. I couldn’t take him seriously! Who would have thought that Andrew would reignite my love for this unrealistic, reality television show. His commentary/ impersonation of ‘Juan de Pablo’ is so hilarious. It has kept us laughing for sure!

2. Lent

Ash Wednesday is this Wednesday! Lent is the Christian season of preparation before Easter. Ash Wednesday marks the first day, or the start of the season of Lent. Lent is a time when many Christians prepare for Easter by observing a period of fasting, repentance, moderation, and spiritual discipline. The purpose is to set aside time for reflection on Jesus Christ, his suffering and his sacrifice, his life, death, burial and resurrection.

As Christian parents, Andrew and I are following our calling to raise our daughters to be followers of Jesus Christ. We are looking forward to this season of repentance as we prepare for our first Easter celebration as a family! One idea I found on Pinterest (I have yet to learn how to connect my Pinterest/ Pins to the blog…I will get around to that one day) is as a family, to decide on 40 people to specifically pray for during this season. When the day is done, one child (Andrew or myself this year) will cross off the day as a visual “count-down” to Easter.

Also, the image below shows a great idea to theme the weeks until Easter Sunday. For more Lent Season/ Easter ideas for kids and family, you can follow my board on Pinterest!

For Lent.

3. March Madness

I love March Madness. I am firm believer that magic happens in the month of March (I root for the underdogs and CinIMG_3042derella teams!). For the past two years, I spent my time hanging out with the ACC mascots during tournament time. While I will miss my mascots and ACC family, the White family will be attending the games via satellite! The ACC Women’s Basketball tournament will kick off this week on Wednesday, March 5th. And, the ACC Men’s Basketball tournament will kick off next week on Wednesday, March 12th. Selection Day for the NCAA Men’s tournament is Sunday, March 16th, and the first round begins on Tuesday, March 18th. And, did you know that our area will be hosting the second-round of the NCAA tournament? This is a great chance to check something off the bucket list! Let the games begin!

4. Spring/ Summer Consignment Sales

CALLING ALL MOTHERS: these two sales in the Triangle are a great opportunity! Last fall, I attended one of these sales and racked up! Even as preemies, I have been surprised at how fast our girls have grown out of their preemie/ newborn clothes. Why pay full price when they are guaranteed to spit up, mess up, and grow out of them in like a month! March is the time that most consignors hold their annual spring/ summer sales. Check out these two!

photo(2)

The Good 2 Grow Kids Consignment Sale is awesome! They also have a pre-sale for New Moms! If you are expecting or have a child six months or less, take advantage of this opportunity to shop ahead!

THIS NEXT SALE IS GOING TO BE AMAZING: The Triangle Mothers of Multiples sale at the State Fair Grounds! As much as I love finding a bargain and consignment sales, one of the aggravating things is attempting to find two of something. You always come up with the same problem: #1) you can’t find a matching one OR #2) there are two on the rack, but they are in two different sizes…it never fails. Needless to say, I may or may not be like Monica when she is shopping for her wedding dress. Only I will be going for 3-6M, 6+M, and two exercausers. If I have to, I will bring two friends and three whistles!

Both of these groups/ sales are on Facebook. Check them out for dates and locations!

Last, but not least: Who is looking to kick off this warm, spring weather by participating in a 5K or 10K? The best part is, you would be supporting a wonderful cause!

5. Ella’s Race: Chick-Fil-A Race Series

photo(1)Join the herd and lace up your running shoes for the Chick-fil-A Connect Race Series of Raleigh on Saturday, March 22nd! This race is hosted by Chick-fil-A Capital Crossing and Falls Village. The race will benefit The Cure Starts Now and the Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation to help pediatric research, aid, and support efforts for children with brain cancer & tumors. This race is in held in memory of Ella Newmiller.

Andrew’s Chick-fil-A, Falls Village, is very passionate about this race because of the close relationship they had with sweet Ella. Ella passed away from a brain tumor a month before the 1st Annual race was held in March 2012. Please come and support Ella, the Newmiller family, and Chick-fil-A by participating in this cause to raise money for these awesome foundations.

The race will include:

Seriously…who wouldn’t want to win Chick-fil-A Chicken Sandwhich Meals for a Year? Hello…

ALSO, directly beside the finish line of the race will be a FREE Family FunZone for children under 12 years of age. The Family FunZone will be open from 7:00-10:00AM on event day and will be filled with free activities and inflatables!

You can sign up to walk/ run at cfaraceseries.com by clicking on Ella’s Race. It’s going to be a fun time!

And… this month is also my birthday! I celebrated turning ’22’ with these guys last year.
IMG_2796
And… I can’t wait to see what ’23’ will bring by celebrating with these girls this year!
IMG_1399
Happy March everyone!
Mary Kate

Leave a Reply

