April and Peanut Butter Granola

Real catchy title, huh? Sorry! It’s about all this creative brain has left for today.

Well, I am three days late for Fab Five Things: April and two days late for Tasty Tuesday. What a week! From baseball games to the emergency room, I hope you can find it in your heart to forgive me. As my readers, this may just be something that you’ll have to learn and accept: I am always late. You all probably already know that. It’s something my husband quickly learned and had to accept if he wanted to marry me. Although, the one event I know we can never be late to is a NC State game. He doesn’t care if I run out of the house with my curlers in and my make-up half done, if I don’t hurry out of the house I will be left. He’s learned and accepted that I run behind, and I have learned to always carry an extra set of make-up and hairspray in the car. It’s a compromise! The car… you can technically call it my second bathroom, dining room, and nursery.

Without further adieu, here are the five fabulous things I am looking forward to in April!

1. SPRING. SPRING. SPRING.

photo 2(6)

The weather we have had this past week has been absolutely gorgeous! These sunny and warm days have been slow to come, but they were worth the wait! I am excited to finally be able to get the girls out and stroll. The girls need to get some fresh air, and Mama needs to get her post-baby fitness work out a rolling! We have two weddings in our family this year, and well…Mama needs to fit into a dress and cute wedges. A pedicure is a must for these feet!

2. SEEING THE PERSON. IMG_1408

On Monday, April 7th, my friend Rebecca and I will be featured on the UNCG homepage. We were asked to do an article about our friendship and to raise awareness of the Beyond Academics and Peer Companion program at UNCG. This program and Rebecca’s friendship are very special to me. A couple of weeks ago I spent an afternoon with Rebecca in Greensboro. We had a great time celebrating my birthday at Bojangles and doing a fun photo shoot for the article! I can’t wait to share with other UNCG students about my special friendship with Rebecca. You can find the article here on Monday!

This picture is my absolute favorite of my sweet friend. Scotty. NCSU. Bojangles. Pink hair bow. And, that sweet smile. This picture sums up pretty much everything about Rebecca. Except for Disney, Minnie Mouse, and her family. But, her Minnie Mouse jacket is probably on the back of the chair! 🙂

3. EASTER!

I am so excited to celebrate the girls first Easter as a family! Their first Christmas was celebrated a little differently with them in the NICU, and so Andrew and I are excited to celebrate this special day with them at home. While I am hunting for Easter baskets and what to put in a 5-month baby girls Easter basket, I don’t want to get too carried away to bypass the real reason Easter is so special. As the girls grow, I want them to always remember and treasure the reason we come together and celebrate on Christmas Day and Easter. So, I am going to put my creative thinking cap on as we prepare to celebrate Christ’s Resurrection as a family together. We’re looking forward to taking the girls to enjoy Easter with Andrew’s family in Greensboro. The girls have ventured to Wallace, and so now it is time to see where Daddy grew up!

4. UNCW vs. NCSU // Raleigh, NC // April 23, 2014 photo 5(1)

We have loved going to watch Matt and the Seahawks play ball this spring! We have yet to go see the Wolfpack play at the Doak, but on April 23rd we will have the opportunity to do both. Talk about a sticky situation! Weather pending, our plans are to take the girls to their first ballgame! Now, I am in a pickle. The girls will not match at all, but we can’t go to our first NCSU event without Red and White, and we can’t go to this game without showing our support for Uncle Matt. Stay tuned to see what this Mama comes up with for an outfit. Red. White. And teal. It should be interesting!

5. March of Dimes Walk // Morrisville, NC // April 26, 2014

Team White Twins is getting SO excited for this day! We can’t wait to see our other NICU families and cross the finish line together once and for all! We are 22 days away from marching! We are only $85 dollars away from raising $1,000 dollars!! What a BLESSING!!!!!!!!! We’d love to have you join us in our march by either marching with us or donating to our team. You can join or donate here. This is going to be a very special day for our family!

It is so hard to believe that the girls will be five months old next week. Time is going by too fast!

Speaking of time going by too fast, the days go by in the blink of an eye. Therefore, as the girls are getting more active (and we want to spend time outside!) my time in the kitchen this week has been well, lack there of. The only time I have spent in my kitchen this week is to fix and wash bottles. I do want to share with you a recipe I am planning to try this weekend. We are wanting to eat a little more healthy around our house! There are some staples in my diet that I just can not do away with right now………. mint chocolate chip ice cream…… and Char Grill (of course)…. but, it is all in moderation! Where do I go to for fast and convenient recipes for healthy eating? Pinterest, of course. For my sweet tooth, I am planning to fill that void with easy Peanut Butter granola. You can find the recipe here. This seems like a perfect on the go snack. I will let you know how it works out next week!

For now, I am going to go back to playing with babies! All I will say is what is worse than a teething baby? Two teething babies that decide to boycott their naps for the afternoon…. and one with a bum foot. It’s always something! But, I wouldn’t trade my drool-drenched and spit-up stained t-shirt or two fussy, yet smiling babies for anything in the world.

Oh, be still my heart.photo 1(7)   Happy Friday everyone! The White family plans to take advantage of this beautiful weather this weekend. Hopefully we will find a parking space at the park this time… check back on Monday to see if we did!

Screen shot 2014-03-17 at 12.19.20 AM

 

 

Leave a Reply

