Live May the Wright Way

The girls and I have grown accustom to a morning routine. We send Daddy off to work around 7:30, and then we all have our ‘breakfast’ while watching Robin, George, and the gang on Good Morning America. On Sunday night, I saw online that this week is not only Teacher Appreciation Week, but also National Nurses Week. I went to bed writing down a few thoughts about a post to dedicate to our nurses.

As the girls and I were watching GMA yesterday morning, I thought about how I would compose this post. I was lost in my words when I saw Emeril appear on the screen. BANG! get it? He had my attention at the words: neonatal intensive care nurse. GMA was doing their Mother’s Day: Breakfast in Bed contest segment. What do you know… the winner was a NICU nurse from New York Presbyterian Hospital. Please watch the clip here.

Needless to say, this special segment was all too familiar. I cried, smiled, and shared in the joy of the relationship between a NICU nurse and a mother.

If that weren’t enough for me emotionally, I then saw a post from one of the best moms I know, Mrs. Dona Lanier. Mrs. Dona has an incredible testimony and message to share. ALL mothers should hear her story! Her sweet boy, Wright, moved in with Jesus on December 17, 2011. You can read about their story here. This was her post from yesterday morning:

Screen shot 2014-05-05 at 7.16.21 PM Screen shot 2014-05-05 at 7.16.58 PM

You know, I don’t think it is a coincidence that after watching the segment about how one person can make a forever impact on one’s life, that I read Mrs. Dona’s post about Wright. I think it’s a God Thing. In the six years of Wright’s life on Earth, there were many nurses that made an impact on him. In return, Wright touched their life as well. This month of May, it is an honor to live out Wright’s legacy of performing random acts of kindness.

For 98 days, our family was the recipient of so many random acts of kindness. From our family, friends, and even those we didn’t know… to our nurses… we will always be forever grateful for how people helped us through this journey.

So, as we celebrate the nurses in our lives this week… I dedicate this post to them.

To our 3rd Floor High Risk Women’s nurses- Corrie, Angie, Caroline, Eboni, Patti, Tiffany, Kim, Amanda, Christi, Sherry, Prune Juice Sherry, Alicia, Shireka, Miss Carol, and Roberta,

When we were admitted to Chapel Hill, I was a nervous wreck. After 17-hours of constant monitoring and 12-hours of magnesium on the dreaded “4th floor” you opened your arms to me. You made our family feel welcome as you told us about the ins-and-outs of ordering food, how to cheat the parking garage, and when you helped me move into the “spacious room with the view” in the middle of the night to guarantee I got the spot. Talk about hospitality? You even made it possible for me to receive a manicure in the hospital. There was always a peace with each of you. I grew to quickly trust you. You were no longer just my nurses, but my friends. Whenever you came in to “chase down my girls”, I appreciated your patience. For all the times you had to sit with me on my bed and hold that monitor in a particular spot for thirty minutes to get good results, thank you. I love each of you for your optimism and enthusiasm when we finally “found them” and the times when monitoring was medically-boring. And when Andrew wasn’t there, thank you for staying with me and keeping the computer screen open so I could see the heartbeats. I appreciated how you empathized with me when I had to go “upstairs”, and I appreciated even more when you rejoiced with me when the L&D nurse brought me back to 3w10 to bake some more. As a NC State fan, thank you for being nice to Andrew and me the day of the UNC vs. NCSU football game. Your humility was a blessing. I have never seen anyone make a hospital bed as good as you. You made that bed as comfortable for me as you possible could! On the day we delivered the girls, thank you for being there. Thank you for the oxygen, I appreciate it now! Thank you for wheeling me up to the 4th floor holding my hand. Thank you for staying by my side even when the L&D nurses were taking over and prepping me for the OR. Thank you for taking my purple pillow back to my room. And, when I came back down from recovery… thank you for allowing me to mash that pain medicine button as much as I wanted too! Thank you for helping me to the bathroom like it was nothing but a thing. I don’t know how you do it… this job. Twelve hours on. Twelve hours off. Holidays. Birthdays. Weekends. But, you’re always there. Whenever I mashed that red button, you’d come running! For the three weeks (and with how much I moved in we were hoping it would be longer!) you were not only my nurses. You were my family. You saw me through one of the hardest times of my life. You, my 3rd Floor Women’s nurses, are my forever friends. You will always hold a special place in my heart for all that you did to help me. You will never be forgotten, because it’s impossible to tell our story without you. We love you!

IMG_0737

To our NICU nurses- Danielle, Nicole, and Tara (our primaries) and all of our other sweet nurses,

You helped make this possible.

photo(23)  photo(15)

IMG_2516 IMG_2485

Our first weekend in Chapel Hill, Andrew and I took a tour of the NICU. The only pod we went into was Pod D. Little did I know that this would be our home with you for two and a half months. On November 11, the alarms sounded and you ran. I know you ran because I have seen when you go full speed ahead knowing a baby is on its way. We were an emergency, so I know you fought like **** to get two spots clean for my baby girls. I have seen you do it before. When the White girls arrived in Pod D, thank you for caring for them instantly. You were the first act of love and kindness they ever knew on this Earth. I was very out of it, but I already trusted you. This trust that I shared with you created a bond that will never be broken. You were the caretaker for two of the most important people in my life when I could not be. You are the one who handed them to me for the very first time. You helped me place them on my chest with all of the wires, tubes, and machines that surrounded us. You always tried to make the best accommodations for us in a place where ideal accommodations aren’t likely to be found. You held and rocked my babies when I wasn’t there. You were a vital part of their life for the first two and a half months. You were their advocate when I was not there during rounds. You watched over them. You protected them like they were your own. You bathed them. You dressed them. You changed their incubator sheets. You knew their signals, faces, and their cries. Sometimes better than me. You were always understanding when I would randomly call in the middle of the night just to check on them. I’ll never be able to return what you’ve given to me. Thank you for fighting for my babies. Thank you for the conversations. Thank you for the support. Thank you for the hugs. Thank you for answering my endless amount of questions. Thank you for silencing the alarms. Thank you for every single picture I asked that you take. Thank you for your skill (and the crafts!) Thank you for every bag of Snappies and allowing me to sneak home the orange pacis… they are still their favorite. Thank you for loving my babies like they were your own. Thank you for being there with them on their first Thanksgiving. Thank you for being by their side on their first Christmas morning. Whenever I look at Amelia and Leah, I will always see you. Our story will never be told without mentioning you. So, whenever you swipe your access card to enter that alarm-sounding locked unit that feels like a world away… know that you are so very appreciated. We love you!

IMG_0568

As you can see, these nurses perform random acts of kindness all day and every day. Trust me… helping a postpartum lady to the bathroom (especially after an emergency C-Section) should qualify for an entire year’s worth of kindness! What a mess!

Along with Mrs. Dona and her family, I encourage all of you to perform 9 Random Acts of Kindness to honor Wright this month. In Heaven, Wright is probably the Emeril… delivering many ‘breakfast in beds‘ to all the mothers.

Let’s do the same here. Live May the Wright Way.

Screen shot 2014-03-17 at 12.19.20 AM

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Live May the Wright Way

  1. melanng says:

    Such a sweet, sweet post!!! As I sit here reading, I find it funny and ironic that the only thing handy I had to wipe the tears was my “Go Baby Go” t-shirt!! We love each of you so much and are so blessed to have you in our family!!

Leave a Reply

