My Favorite Day

A year ago today, Andrew and I stood before a congregation of our family and friends as we made a promise to one another. A promise to love unconditionally and without hesitation. A promise to encourage, to trust, and to respect one another. A promise to work with each other, knowing that together we could build a life far better than we could do by ourselves. A promise to care, to stand beside, and to share all of life’s adversities and all of its joys.

whitemaready-3870

I will never forget that day. As I walked down the aisle to my handsome groom, I saw my future. I saw the love of my life. I saw my best friend. When my Daddy gave me away, I will always remember the peace I felt as I took hold of Andrew’s hands. These very hands were the hands that would hold mine during prayer, take mine when I needed strength, work hard daily for our family, tenderly hold our children, and love me for the rest my life.

We have faced a tremendous amount during our first year of marriage. Four months prior to our original wedding date, we discovered we were going to be parents. Not only to one baby, but two. Two high-risk mono-amniotic twins, at that. Read our story here. We faced our family and friends with the realization that we would have to move our wedding to August. Andrew had recently been promoted to General Manager at Chick-fil-A, and I was halfway complete with an internship to earn my Bachelor’s Degree from UNCG. Due to complications in my pregnancy, I took a medical leave from school. I moved home from Greensboro, and we made preparations to combine four months of wedding planning into one. Our wedding was not we had originally planned. There was no party at the American Legion the Friday before our wedding. We only had a few attendants stand with us as we took our vows. There were no monogrammed button downs as I got ready with all of my attendants. There was no grand reception or trolley to take our huge bridal party. There was no first dance, or dancing at all. There was no week long honeymoon to Bermuda. But, there was a wedding. On August 10th, 2013. There were vows. There were family and friends. There were beautiful flowers. There was an amazing photographer. There was beautiful music. There was a spirit-filled church. There was love, and in the end… that is all that really mattered. We took a three day honeymoon to Charleston, and moved to Raleigh four days after our wedding.

After 2.5 months of ‘newlywed bliss’, I was admitted to Chapel Hill to be monitored 3-times a day for the safety of our girls at 26-weeks gestation. Andrew would work during the day, come to the hospital at night, and leave to spend the night at home. We did this for three weeks. Our daughters arrived at 29 weeks, the day after we celebrated our 3 month anniversary. Leah at 2 lbs., 13 oz. and Amelia at 3 lbs., 3 oz. Our tiny, 3 lbs. baby girl had heart surgery on December 2, 2013. We celebrated our first Christmas as a family apart. Our girls were in the NICU for three months. When we brought them home at the end of January, our mothers stayed to help us for the first month. In February, Andrew said goodbye to his first love, Millie. Millie had been in the White family for close to ten years, and was a canine sister to Andrew, Joel, and Ben. We all loved Millie girl, and I will always remember the last time we saw her. In May, I went back to finish my degree. We are so grateful for our family who stayed with us this summer to help take care of the girls while I worked. In July, Andrew transitioned to a new store as General Manager. I finished my degree this past week, and am officially a college graduate.

What a year!

This past year has made me realize that there is no one else on this planet more suited for me than Andrew White. I would have never guessed that this is where we would be when I stepped on that elevator three years ago. We have grown so much this past year as a couple and as individuals. Among many lessons that I have learned, I have learned that Andrew is my Ephesians 3:20 in the flesh.

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us…” Ephesians 3:20

As a little girl, I always dreamed of what my wedding day would be like, who I would marry, and having a family. It is hard to believe I am here. This particular verse plays in my mind as I reflect on our first year of marriage. It is only by the grace of God that we are where we are today. As I worshiped with Andrew standing by my side this morning, I was in awe of the God who has done immeasurably more than all I could ask or imagine. When I look into Andrew’s eyes, I don’t see perfection. I see someone who will fight for me, and protect me, and love me in spite of all the ways I am still a wreck. I see a son of God. I see my biggest blessing.

I see home.

Happy Anniversary to the love of my life, Andrew. You are my biggest blessing, and you blessed me with my greatest accomplishment. Every day, I see how incredible you are, and feel so grateful to be sharing life with you. Thank you for saying, ‘I Do’ on my favorite day!

I love you,

Screen shot 2014-03-17 at 12.19.20 AM

This is our wedding video compiled of wedding pictures taken by the fabulous, Meredith Horne! Check her out here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “My Favorite Day

  1. Meredith Horne says:

    Thanks for the shout out MK! You’re wedding day was one of my absolute favorites last year. Nothing wrong with a wedding that is just about the love and union of two souls and the making of a new family by joining two old ones. Strip away all that other stuff, which is fun when you have it, but in the end it’s all about the two people up at the alter saying “I do!” I loved every minute of that day. Thanks for letting me be a part of it.

Leave a Reply

