How It Fits Series: Plastic Hangers, Tags, Newspapers, Oh My…

Welcome Back!

Last week we talked about creating a twin registry, and if it was really necessary to have two of everything. We have quickly learned that you begin to outgrow a certain amount of space with not just one baby, but two. Our two-bedroom apartment is only 968 sq. ft., and when thinking of the title for this particular series of posts, “HOW IT FITS” seemed appropriate. Some people have asked me how I fit it all in from caring for two babies, a household, a husband, family, and a business, to fitting all of our belongings into a matter of 968 sq. ft. of space. Here’s the honest truth: It doesn’t all fit. Truthfully, we can’t make it all fit into our apartment, or our day. We have a lot in storage (at my parent’s house, thanks Mom and Dad!) and I never seem to ever, ever catch up on the housework. There is always a load of laundry to fold, a dish to be rinsed, a toilet to be cleaned, a floor to be vacuumed, and a Diaper Genie to be emptied. I fail miserably every day. But, we survive and somehow… it fits. I wanted to share with you a few lessons that I have learned in my motherhood journey and hope to encourage you where you are in this series. If you are the expecting mother that is in the middle of an aisle full of baby equipment and don’t know what to do, I am with you. If you are the mother that is surrounded by a pile of baby clothes tagging the night before a consignment sale, I am with you. If you are the mother that’s trying to keep the scissors out of your babies hand while trying to save the family $.50 on that dish detergent, I am with you. If you are the mother that wakes up and goes nonstop until you lay down at night, I am with you. We are in this together. Motherhood is the most incredible journey, and at the end of the day you’ll realize… this just fits. This crazy little world that is unpredictable and humbling at the same time, fits me.

In last week’s post, I made the recommendation to check out local consignment sales for your large equipment: car seats, strollers, high chairs, pack ‘n plays, etc. Well, today we will be discussing how to shop these sales and where to shop! Also, I will be sharing a few tips I have learned in using coupons. By NO means am I an expert AT ALL, but I hope this will be helpful information for you! If you have any tips, please comment below and we will learn together!

photo(62)

CONSIGNMENT SALES

Typically, every March/ April and August/ September, you will discover Children’s Consignment sales for the designated seasons. I grew up in hand-me downs from my older cousin, and learned how to shop with my Nana for a bargain. In order for me to stay-at home, we have to budget out our finances carefully. Therefore, I take responsibility in shopping the bargains, deals, and sales, to clothe, care, and feed a family a four.

I went to my first Children’s Consignment sale last fall when I was pregnant. I was blown away! At this sale, I found about 40 hair bows for $20. You can not beat this deal! That is $.50 per bow. AND, they were brand spanking new! They were left over from a previous adoption fundraiser. When I got home, I found this deal online for infant headbands. This is a wholesale website, so you only need to order one package. You get fifty total headbands, twenty five different colors (two of each). This accessory loving Mama was elated!

The reason I love attending these sales are for the deals and steals. For example, at the Twin Mom’s of Multiples sale I bought two brand new Elegant Baby cable sweater jumpsuits for only $15. If you shop the right sales, you can find the best deals. In the past year, these are my favorite sales that I have shopped:

Good 2 Grow Kids Consignment Sale
Triangle Mom’s of Multiples Sale

The reason that I like the two sales above are due to the quality of clothing, equipment, toys, etc. that are found at these sales. I volunteered (if you volunteer you can shop early!) at the TMOTT sale in August, and the volunteers were responsible for inspecting all clothing, equipment, toys, shoes, etc. for any damage, recall notices, spots/ stains, etc. As a consignor, we were fined if we tagged an item to sale that was not held to standard. The Good 2 Grow Kids Consignment Sale is the same way. I have been to the Kid’s Exchange sale at the State Fairgrounds and was not impressed at all. It’s very overwhelming as there are over 3,000 consignors at this week-long event. The quality of products I have found at the Kid’s Exchange vs. TMOTT/ Good 2 Grow do not even compare. I made a few purchases at this last sale, but it wasn’t worth the hour that I stood in line. I will probably not go back after my last experience! Some of you may have had a better experience than me, and I am happy for you! Let me know about your experience. Maybe I just went on a bad day!

You can find more sales in your area at ConsignmentMommies.com! This is a wonderful site that will be a helpful resource to you if you choose to shop or consign!

One sale that you will not find on Consignment Mommies is the Lolly Wolly Doodle Warehouse sale. This past May, I grabbed two of my girlfriends to snag some sweet deals on smocked clothing! Lolly Wolly Doodle is an online children’s boutique based out of Lexington, NC. They have an annual warehouse sale in May where everything is $10 an under. I racked UP on outfits for the girls for this upcoming season and into next spring. The outfits in the picture below were $10, originally $39.99. When you are buying for two, you can’t beat that deal!

IMG_4039

For advice on shopping these sales, check out this resource here.  If you are selling at a consignment sale, check out this resource here.

COUPONING

By NO means am I an expert…seriously. I am not one that you would see on TLC spending $6, and saving $200. I do not have a stock pile. I simply clip out coupons for products we already use, or would use (if it’s a really good coupon!) I typically use newspaper clippings instead of the coupon websites.

Since there is a Harris Teeter only half a mile from our house, we usually shop there for our groceries. Harris Teeter is known for being one of the pricier grocery stores, but I love how they double coupons, have awesome weekly specials, and for the past couple of months, one brand of organic baby food has been priced $10/10 each week. GLORY! And, their online shopping and pick up feature is really nice for a mom of little ones! I base our meals around the weekly specials, and use my VIC card, e-Vic coupons, and manufacturer’s coupons to do my grocery shopping. Simple, simple, simple! My method? Every little bit helps. Each shopping trip I save an average of $60-$70 for just using coupons and shopping the weekly specials. For produce, I typically buy whatever is on sale, but would prefer to shop at Trader Joe’s or the Farmer’s Market for produce. It is a lot cheaper at these two places! One app that I have on my phone that I LOVE is Favado. You can use Favado to compare prices across your local stores and find the best deals on the products you love! What I really like about Favado is you have easy access to all the weekly sale papers right on your phone.

I also will use my manufacturer’s coupons when I shop at Target! Target also has an app, Cartwheel, that you can use to help save while shopping. One reason I like shopping at Harris Teeter and Target is because I like their generic brands, and both stores have good deals on their  brands. (Plus, Target has great sales in their baby department every so often!) We use the up&up brand for the girls formula, disposable bottle refills, among other things. Last week, almost everything that was on my list was marked down at Target and I had coupons. I ended up saving about $80 just for shopping what was on sale, using my Cartwheel app, and coupons.

There’s not a whole lot to it, I just do a little bit here and there that helps our family save. I hope this helps YOU in helping you save today! If you have any tips that you’d be willing to share, please comment in the section below. I would love to learn how you help save your family money!

Here’s to shopping smarter!

Screen shot 2014-03-17 at 12.19.20 AM

3 thoughts on “How It Fits Series: Plastic Hangers, Tags, Newspapers, Oh My…

  1. Stacy says:

    I am always looking for a great way to save money! I just downloaded the Target app and am excited to save some $! I was told recently about the Walmart savings catcher app. This might be one you would be interested in too. My due date is October 4, so I am spending all my spare time stocking up on essentials! Can’t wait to shop some of these consignment sales and the Lolly Wolly one too :).
    Love reading and thanks for the great advice!
    x
    Stacy

    • marykwhite says:

      So glad this helped you!! Thanks for the tip on the Wal-Mart Savings Catcher app! You are going to be the best Mommy! I will be thinking of you in the next couple of weeks, and praying everything goes well! The LWD sale is my FAVORITE! Two huge warehouses, it’s a little overwhelming but such cute stuff!!! You’re welcome!

  2. Pingback: Five on Friday |

Leave a Reply

