They Like to Move It, Move It

It is official. We have two crawlers in this house, y’all! And by crawlers I mean… blink your eyes and they are across the room crawlers.

photo 2(13) photo 3(10) photo 1(17) photo 4(9)

Needless to say, we have been a little busy [chaotic, going insane, losing our minds, absolutely clueless] kind of busy the past two weeks. This type of busy may not be the kind that you are thinking in your mind. We haven’t really had anywhere to go the past two weeks except for a weight check-up [19 POUNDS…..HELLO!] But, our minds and feet have been running a steady pace since we returned home from the wedding.

After we settled back down into our routine, it was the first time since last October that I really think my mind had the chance to process all that we’ve been through in the past year. When we found out we were expecting, I didn’t have time to process all of the change that was taking place. I immediately went from a 9 to 5 internship, to knee deep in planning a wedding and moving four years of memories home from Greensboro. We had the wedding, and then Andrew and I started building our life together in Raleigh.  We had three months of newlywed bliss and “nesting” before I was admitted to Chapel Hill in October. The girls arrived three weeks later, and then we had a three month NICU stay. When we brought the girls home, I was so focused on making up the three months I felt like I had lost with them. We started the March of Dimes team, and I was spending nap time writing thank you notes. The month of May rolled around, and I went back to work to finish my degree. When I finished in August, the rest of the month was booked solid with our family trip to Williamsburg, doctor appointments, check-ups, and two trips to Wallace. Then, September brought more than expected. we didn’t anticipate having to say goodbye to one family member, as we welcomed another. So, as you can see… we’ve been a little busy. This kind of busy has kept me from processing all that has happened because we really haven’t had the opportunity to slow down.

Although we have physically slowed down the past two weeks, my mind has been busy processing all that has happened. It’s been a rough couple of weeks, and that is why I abandoned this little space that has helped me more this year than I actually realized. Plain and simple? The chaos of this year has worn me down.

While I have taken two weeks to process and reflect, my girls have proven to me that life doesn’t stop when you’re sad. You got to keep moving. In this past week, our girls have gone from scooting, to crawling, to crawling fast, and now? PULLING UP. In one week. As they’ve moved, they’ve helped me keep moving. Tomorrow, they will be eleven months old. We are only one month away from the big O N E. I am in total denial by the way!

While it hasn’t been easy to process all the change and challenges of this past year, I have realized that I need to channel my focus to all of the beauty and growth that has taken place. Andrew and I have a stronger marriage because we have had to rely and depend on each other during this past year so much. Most of all, our girls are healthy and here. We are truly blessed.

If you are in a season of chaos, a season of change, or a season of the unknown, find reassurance that God is a God of peace.

“For God is not a God of disorder but peace…”
1 Corinthians 14:33

No matter how difficult the season, I have learned that there is beauty to be found in each one. We are all in different seasons of our lives, but we all share a season that God has given to us to live today. Autumn. Wherever you are in your life, I encourage you to step out and enjoy the beauty that this season has to offer. Seasons change, and this season won’t last forever. So keep hanging on — take a deep breath, turn away from the constant demands of to-do lists and tasks and smile at what makes you happy because it is the in-between that we won’t forget. Live your in-between, and make it something you’ll want to remember one day.

Just get to movin’ it….

photo 4(10) photo 3(11) photo 2(14) photo 1(18)

Screen shot 2014-03-17 at 12.19.20 AM

Leave a Reply

