Three Colds, Two Day Get-A-Way, and ONE Year

When I started this blog I discovered my passion for writing. I discovered my passion for sharing our story. And, I discovered my passion for glorifying God through my words. For those that have followed along in our journey since last September, you may be wondering where I have been. It’s hard to believe that it’s been almost three weeks since I have written. Needless to say, life happened. We got out the heck out of dodge. Got sick. And, we had two babies turn one.

IMG_4126 IMG_4142

IMG_4150 IMG_4145

IMG_4183 IMG_4225

IMG_4227 IMG_4205

Andrew and I had the best time on our trip to the mountains. We stayed at the neatest place in Banner Elk, hiked around Grandfather Mountain, had a picnic on the Blue Ridge Parkway, and watched the water fall at Linville Falls. It was a much needed getaway for the both of us, and we came home refreshed and ready for a new week. But, that week in particular was a really hard week for me. This was the week we had been admitted to Chapel Hill last year, and our journey began. I kept the girls and I busy that week with visits with friends, and somewhere I found the strength to go back to Chapel Hill to share our story. On October 30th, a year ago to the date that the girls gave us a scary “false alarm”, I shared our story with a team of new NICU nurses. In an odd way, this visit to Chapel Hill was good for me. Taking steps down the hallways that felt so familiar, and hug the necks of our nurses that became family is what I needed to let go of some raw emotions that had been holding me captive from moving forward. My little strawberries and I did our trick-or-treating inside this year.

IMG_4292 IMG_4335

On Halloween morning, we all woke up with the sniffles. Unfortunately, the sniffles decided to haunt us, and made a mess in our house the rest of the week. Last week was rough. I believe that the girls now have nightmares about their nasal aspirator and humidifier. We went through approximately 47 boxes of tissues, and I have learned that an empty box of any sort is the best entertainment for a one year old. There were a lot of tears. There were many sleepless nights. There were a lot of coughs. There were a lot of 2.5 mL drops of Infant’s Tylenol. I was popping Sudafed and Airborne like it was my job. There was a point in the middle of our week that I contemplated not having the girls’ birthday parties. I wasn’t sleeping, I was wearing the same pair of yoga pants for three days straight, there was no way I could be able to pull off two birthday parties. Well, by the grace of God, we had two parties this weekend to celebrate our girls. I am still wondering how it all came together. Oh, I know! FAMILY. Without them this past week, you’d still find me in my dry shampoo glory, yoga pants, and probably a day old t-shirt. Despite our rough past couple of weeks, we survived and we are here. We are on the other side of the big day and I can’t believe my babies are ONE! Here’s a quick look into how we celebrated!

IMG_4408_2 IMG_4416_2

IMG_4418_2 IMG_4447_2

IMG_4440 IMG_4431

IMG_4461 IMG_4474

IMG_4475 IMG_4486

IMG_4504 IMG_4525

IMG_4513 IMG_4519

IMG_4561 IMG_4560

IMG_4576 IMG_4585

The picture above of my Daddy and Amelia… oh my goodness. My sweet aunts brought the girls and Papa G a surprise from Scotland. The girls got Christmas tam-tams, and well… Papa G got new hair. Red hair to be exact. On a Papa G sized tam-tam. I can’t.  What made this scene better was when my Daddy got my red wagon out of the garage from when I was little and rode the girls around, all of them sporting their tam tams. It was one of those “you had to be there moments” for sure!

Mom is here for the next couple of days, and we took the girls to their one-year check up this morning. Amelia is 19 lbs. 6 oz. and Leah is 19 lbs. 15 oz. WOW! These girls have come a long way from 2 lbs. 13 oz. and 3 lbs. 3 oz. They certainly are our little miracles! Both girls were 30 inches in length, and you know what that means? Yes. We have graduated to big girl car seats!

I have been putting my thoughts together for a one-year posting, get your tissues ready. Every time I sit down to write and capture all the thoughts that are whirling in my head happy tears just flow. I am simply overwhelmed with so many emotions. I am sure the guy that was watching Family Guy on his computer beside me at Starbucks yesterday thought I was hormonal nut case. Oh well! As soon as I can get it wrapped around my head that I am the mom to two one-year old toddlers I will post it… therefore, you’ll see it…well, never.

Here’s to hoping! Be back soon…

Mary Kate

Leave a Reply

