Unexpected Joy

My precious daughters,

I have had these thoughts on my heart for quite some time. I haven’t been able to put them into actual words, until tonight.

Tonight, your Daddy and I went back to the special place that was ‘your home’ for the first three months of your life. The Newborn Critical Care Center. We sat around a table with other parents who share similar stories, and we discussed how we could help other families who are writing their stories now. As we walked the halls that felt all to familiar, I reflected on your story. I thought about our first year together. I dreamed about the day we’d be able to share with you your story, and when you could understand that you truly are living, breathing miracles of God’s grace, mercy, and love.

The other day, I shared a post about our adventure for World Prematurity Day. In this post, I shared a verse that I would like to share with you. “Daughter, your faith has made you well. Go in peace. Your suffering is over.” Mark 5:34

It is over, baby girls. It is over.

One year later, it took me one more walk to the hospital parking garage holding your Daddy’s hand for me to realize, you are okay. Instead of leaving without you, we were heading home to you. Our suffering is over.

I remember the day I found out I was going to be a mother. I remember my doctor saying, “Mary Kate, you are having a baby”, only to find out forty minutes later that I was indeed carrying two babies. Girls, I will not be dishonest with you. It was the scariest moment of my life. This very moment blew into a whirlwind of a lot of other scary moments, but these “scary moments” blew into a whirlwind of abundant mercy, incredible beauty, and amazing grace.

This year has certainly presented its challenges in many ways, but it has also been the best year of my life. One lesson you will learn as you grow up is that life doesn’t always happen the way that you plan. Thankfully, there is a Redeemer who saves us from our own plans. When we fail to control the lives He gave to us, He showers us with His endless grace and mercy. Through this lesson, you will discover that His plans are far better than your own. Trust Mama… He gave me the two of you when I least expected it. And, to be a wife to your Daddy and your Mama… it is my greatest joy, and biggest accomplishment on this earth.

While you were in your home away from home, the two of you received a lot of “fan mail” from family, friends, and even people Mama and Daddy have yet to meet. There was one card in particular that I keep pinned on our board in the kitchen. Pinned right beside your very first diaper, the words are printed there in red and blue. May your life be crowded with unexpected joys.” Leah Katherine and Amelia Grace, you have certainly crowded our lives with unexpected joys since day one. Your lives are a powerful testimony to God’s grace and mercy. A testimony to God’s love. And, a testimony to God’s healing power and provision.

We have seen you adapt. We have seen you overcome. We have seen you fight. We have seen you be strong. We have seen you home. We have seen you discover. We have seen you learn. We have seen you play. We have seen you love.

I wouldn’t trade one day of your first year. Each day has made us all stronger and led us to where we are today. I feel so incredibly blessed to do something that I love every single day… and that’s take care of you.

A year ago today, I was able to hold you both at the same time. You were ten days old, and weighed close to three pounds each. To see the two of you today absolutely takes my breath away. Your toothy grins (two top, two bottom!) light up the whole room. To watch you grasp hold of your crib railing, jump up and down out of excitement for blueberry pancakes in the mornings…it melts my heart. Watching you learn and grow. Listen to your “twin talk” chatter. Playing with you. Teaching you to wave and say “ba-ba” at the right time…not to get confused with “ma-ma”, I am staying right here little ones! Scooping you into my arms when you fall. Feeding you. Rocking you. Reading you books. Doing laundry with you, or the dishes… you love both. Making faces with you in the mirror. Singing and dancing along to Baby Genius– Tempo, Oboe, and Lola are your favorites. Soaking in your adorable giggles… all of these moments I know are so very precious. These are the moments that make motherhood an unexpected joy and the biggest blessing.

I am so very thankful God chose to give us the two of you. Your Daddy and I love you to the moon and back.

Happy first year my loves. Here’s to another year of unexpected joys~

All my love,

Mama

Just a quick look back at how these girls have grown from 2 lbs. 13 oz. and 3 lbs. 3 oz. to 20 POUNDS!

November 2013

IMG_0873

December 2013

IMG_0075 IMG_0133

January 2014

IMG_0568

February 2014

IMG_2935 IMG_1282

March 2014

IMG_2052 IMG_1947

April 2014

IMG_2703 IMG_2792

May 2014

IMG_3630

June 2014

IMG_4104 IMG_3896

July 2014

IMG_4534 IMG_4383

August 2014

WhiteFamily_056 10516676_10152267901012414_2297830699630699179_n

September 2014

IMG_6155

October 2014

IMG_6360 IMG_6307

November 2014

IMG_4461

4 thoughts on “Unexpected Joy

  1. sharissepieces says:

    How touching you guy went to visit the NICU! Love seeing the progression of pictures. You baby girls are dolls!!! Happy one year not only to them, but to YOU, Mama!!! It’s your birthday, too! ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

