Time.

I am seriously at a total loss for words, and have been since about 9:30 Tuesday night. Well, some what… minus the frustration and tears.

For those that know me well, you are aware that for me to be at a loss for words is pretty out of the ordinary. As some of you know, we discovered that my identity was hacked the week before Thanksgiving. I received an e-mail Tuesday night from a complete stranger warning me that someone had stolen photos of my husband and children and created multiple social media outlets pretending to be me.

They created a Facebook profile.

Screen shot 2014-12-09 at 9.30.10 PM

Screen shot 2014-12-09 at 9.31.18 PM

Screen shot 2014-12-09 at 9.31.01 PMThey created a Facebook page.

Screen shot 2014-12-09 at 9.28.03 PMThey joined Preemie groups, mothers of multiples groups, and they interacted with other people in disguise sharing our story.

Screenshot_2014-12-09-20-36-23They created a Goggle+ account, from which they created a blog on Blogger: whitefamilytwins.blogspot.com

And while they seemed to be so creative with this scheme, they weren’t creative enough to post their own thoughts… they stole mine, every last word… well, except for when they switched out our names. Felicity Paige and Genevieve Claire? I can’t…. I just can’t. Side note: doesn’t this person know that my SAT scores could have never gotten me into UNC? That’s as much a joke as those names she/he picked out! I couldn’t get out of basic statistics for heavens sake!

Screen shot 2014-12-09 at 9.31.55 PM

Screen shot 2014-12-09 at 9.32.25 PM

Screen shot 2014-12-09 at 9.32.39 PM

Screen shot 2014-12-09 at 9.32.54 PMWhen I began this blog, I knew that we ran the risk of sharing things on the Internet for others to see. In all honesty, I didn’t see this blog growing outside of close friends and family. But, I have grown to absolutely love the community that blogging has introduced me to since last September. I have met many new friends who are traveling the same road of being a wife and mother. While we’ve never met, through reading each others’ words and sharing memories we have become family. Their lessons and support have helped me tremendously in this new chapter of life. ThisΒ simply divine space has helped me foster my thoughts during one of the scariest times of my life. It gave you… my dear community, family, and friends, the opportunity to stay up to date with the girls progress while we were in the NICU. Today, it gives you the opportunity to see how they are continuing to grow, develop, and learn. This space has been my creative outlet. It’s where I share our story. It’s where I share my voice… even if that does involve stinky fingers, Cheerios, and Mickey Mouse Clubhouse sometimes. Therefore, this personal invasion to my life, my family, and my heart has left me feeling vulnerable and violated.

It’s just really sad that one selfish, dishonest person has left me questioning everything regarding my connection to social media. For now, I have made the decision to deactivate my Facebook account and take time to make changes to this blog. I will still be documenting our days on Instagram for those that follow my private account. If you do not follow me, you can request to follow me, @marykate_white. I can’t tell you how long it will be before I reactivate my Facebook,Β if I reactivate my Facebook, or if I continue blogging. All I know is that this incident has really shaken me, and my number one priority is my family’s safety. Therefore, I need some time to pray through what our social media involvement will look like in the future.
Thank you all so very much for your support during this unfortunate incident. Andrew, the girls, and I wish all of you a very Merry Christmas! Hope to see you in the New Year after we get things sorted out!
Mary Kate

8 thoughts on “Time.

  1. Zelle says:

    This blows my mind, MK! I honestly can’t believe this. I completely understand the importance of your family’s safety — and I also hope that this cruel person does not take away the joys you get from this blog. Prayers for safety for your fam and peace and knowledge that this person goes away! xo

  2. ephesians2verse20 says:

    I’m sorry. Hugs and prayers. I’ll request to see your instagram account. I do know you irl, although you may not remember me…your brother and my son played baseball together and did boy scouts together, your dad and my husband worked at baseball and scouts together and your mom and i chatted on the bleachers throughout many games. we’ve since moved from NC to MN then to SD and now we are in Russia. Praying many blessings for your family this and every season! Amy Jones

  3. sharissepieces says:

    The biggest hugs ever!!! I am near tears reading this. I will send you an email so we can talk offline… My heart is really really heavy for this experience you’re going through, and I can’t even begin to imagine how much heartache you are going through!!!

  4. Lyndsey McCall says:

    I will certainly miss your post! I love seeing pictures of your girls. Yet, I completely understand. I would be mortified as well. Thinking of your sweet family and lifting them up in prayer.

  5. lizzielaws says:

    Wow….that is AWFUL! I’m so sorry to hear that has happened. I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts but I understand your hesitation to continue. I do hope that you reported this awful person on all of those sites.

  6. Victoria Utesch says:

    How shocking to hear of this trial! I am so very sorry, I cannot imagine your pain! Please, please remember there are sooo many more good folks out here who love to hear your thoughts. I will pray for God’s wisdom to be clear to you. Hugs from Chris’s momma in Greensboro.

  7. Lori Holbrook says:

    I hate to see you go,
    but I totally understand. GOD has truly blessed you and Andrew with two beautiful girls that are growing so fast.I loved reading your blog. I hope ya’ll have a very Merry Christmas and Happy New year!

Leave a Reply

